Philadelphia Historical Commission Calendar

The Historical Commission is the City of Philadelphia’s historic preservation regulatory agency. The Commission itself consists of fourteen members representing a breadth of perspectives. The Mayor appoints eight of the members to the Commission; the remaining six are ex-officio members. The Commission has the authority to designate properties as historic and list them on the Philadelphia Register of Historic Places and to approve or deny building permit applications for designated properties. The Architectural Committee is a technical advisory committee to the Commission. Its members are architects, contractors, and structural engineers, and other experts in the field of historic preservation.

The Architectural Committee meets monthly in Room 18-029, 1515 Arch Street.

The Historical Commission meets the second Friday of the month at 9:00 am, 1515 Arch Street Room 18-029.

The Committee on Historic Designation and Committee on Financial Hardship meet on an as-needed basis.